Wednesday, June 24, 2009

More July Opportunities and Calls for Art


The In Practice project series supports artists in creating new work for exhibition at SculptureCenter. We invite artists to submit proposals for projects and installations to be presented beginning in January of 2010.

SculptureCenter seeks proposals that offer new ways of considering sculpture or further the understanding of the discipline and how it can intersect with installation, architecture, performance, and other media.

Proposals will be reviewed relative to the following criteria:

- Quality of proposal and prior work
- Responsiveness to the site and the specific context of SculptureCenter

The works and exhibitions created through this series include sculptural objects, installations, performances and artworks that operate between all of these disciplines. Past participants in the series include Fia Backström, Gardar Eide Einarsson, Drew Heitzler, Justin Lowe, Rachel Mason, Lucy Raven, Karin Schneider, Agathe Snow, and Josh Smith among many others.

All applications will be submitted electronically via SculptureCenter's website this year. The application, guidelines, FAQ, and downloadable building floorplans and images may be found here. Applying artists are encouraged to visit SculptureCenter during open hours.

Deadline: July 1, 2009 / Notification Date: September 1, 2009


You are cordially invited to enter the second annual National Juried Show sponsored by the Southern Appalachian Artist Guild (The Guild). The show will be judged by Ann Templeton ( ). $5000 in prize money, including $2000 Best in Show will be awarded, plus merchandise. Blue Ridge is located in the beautiful north Georgia mountains. The show will run from October 17th through November 13th. This is a traditionally heavy traffic time for fall leaf viewers, attracting interest from the surrounding metropolitan areas of Atlanta, Chattanooga, Knoxville and Asheville. Art works selected by the juror will be displayed in the Richard Low Evans Gallery. The gallery is in the historic courtroom of the Blue Ridge Mountains Arts Association (The Art Center.)

Artists are invited to participate in a juried exhibition of 2-dimensional and 3-dimensional works. Artwork will be chosen from submitted entries by the juror on the basis of creative excellence and quality of execution. All works must be original and completed within the last 2 years. The Guild will be the final authority on eligibility. Works to be hung must be ready for hanging with all necessary hardware in place. Artists who are residents of the United States are eligible to enter

MEDIA CATEGORIES Mixed Media: using more than one medium and/or collage Oil or acrylic on canvas, board or wood framed or museum wrapped Pastel framed* Three-Dimensional art Water media framed* Photography framed * All Other: including drawing, color pencil, pen and ink, but excluding all prints (including Gicleé) .

Click here for the prospectus.

Applications for the 2009 William H. Johnson Prize are now available online at

Please note that the due date for all applications is July 31, 2009, several months earlier than in past years. Applicants are advised to take note of the change so that they do not miss the deadline. The 2009 William H. Johnson Prize is 25,000 USD and the winner will be announced in September 2009.

The William H. Johnson Foundation for the Arts is a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization that seeks to encourage African American artists early in their careers through its annual award, The William H. Johnson Prize. Early career African American artists who work in painting, photography, sculpture, printmaking, installation and/or new genre are eligible to apply.

William H. Johnson, an African American artist born in Florence, South Carolina in 1901, is the namesake of the Foundation. He moved to New York as a young man to study at the National Academy of Design, and though he was acknowledged as the most talented artist in his class of 1926, he was passed over for a traveling scholarship, most likely because of his race. Rather than see Johnson struggle in the United States, his teacher, Charles Hawthorne, gave Johnson 1000 USD so that Johnson could travel to Europe. This act of faith and generosity was pivotal in Johnson's life, for it provided the seed from which his career flourished.

In the same spirit, the William H. Johnson Prize is intended to encourage the best artists working today. Past Johnson Prize Winners include Laylah Ali (2002); Nadine Robinson (2003); Kori Newkirk (2004); Dave McKenzie (2005); Edgar Arceneaux (2006); Rodney McMillian (2007); and Jennie C. Jones (2008).

The William H. Johnson Foundation for the Arts
6022 Wilshire Blvd, #200
Los Angeles, CA 90036
323 931-3744
323 931-3751 fax
Post a Comment